Lotto remains suspended in MECQ areas: PCSO

Philippine News AgencyApril 13, 2021

(File photo)

MANILA – Lotto operations in areas under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) will remain suspended until April 30, the Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) said.

In an advisory issued on Monday night, the PCSO said this is in compliance with the government's directive placing Metro Manila, the provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Abra, and Quirino, and the city of Santiago in Isabela under MECQ from April 12 to 30.

The suspension also covers Small Town Lottery (STL) draws.

Meanwhile, selling of tickets for lotto, other digit games, instant Sweepstakes and STL shall be suspended in areas placed by the provincial governments of La Union and Ilocos Sur under MECQ.

However, the conduct of STL draws in these areas will continue.

On April 11, La Union Gov. Francisco Emmanuel Ortega III, through Executive Order No. 12, placed the municipalities of Bangar and Bauang under MECQ from April 12 to 26 to prevent further spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19) in the province.

Meanwhile, Ilocos Sur Gov. Ryan Singson earlier declared the towns of Bantay, Cabugao, Cervantes, Narvacan, Santa, San Esteban, Santa Lucia, Santa Maria, Sinait, Suyo, and Tagudin under MECQ from April 7 to 21.

The STL and Keno draws and selling of instant sweepstakes tickets in areas not covered by the MECQ remain open unless superseded by the issuance of any quarantine classification.

The PCSO gaming operations in other areas shall follow the respective local government units' quarantine or localized lockdown guidelines. (PNA)

Read More