8 CamSur towns recommended to be placed under MECQ

Philippine News AgencyApril 13, 2021

DOH-Bicol office in Legazpi City (PNA file photo)

LEGAZPI CITY – The Department of Health (DOH) in Bicol has recommended placing eight towns in Camarines Sur with a high number of coronavirus disease (Covid-19) cases under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) to curb the spread of infection, the agency said on Tuesday.

The DOH through the Regional Epidemiology and Surveillance Unit (RESU) classified eight towns in the province as high-risk areas, 14 towns and two cities as moderate risk, and eight other towns as low-risk areas.

Dr. Ernie Vera, DOH regional director, in his memorandum to Camarines Sur Gov. Miguel Luis Villafuerte, said the towns recommended for MECQ are Bombon, Camaligan, Canaman, Caramoan, Pamplona Pasacao, Sagñay, San Jose.

Areas with a moderate level of risk and recommended to be placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) are the towns of Bato, Bula, Cabusao, Calabanga, Gainza, Garchitorena, Lupi, Magarao, Milaor, Minalabac, Nabua, Pili, Ragay, Tigaon, and the cities of Iriga and Naga.

Meanwhile, towns classified as low risk and recommended under MGCQ are Baao, Balatan, Goa, Lagonoy, Libmanan, Presentacion, Sipocot, and Tinambac.

Vera called for the immediate approval and implementation of the recommendation to curb the contagion.

“We are looking forward to your cooperation and strict adherence to the minimum health standards as we continue to fight the pandemic,” he added in the memorandum.

DOH tracker indicated that Camarines Sur has logged a total of 2,666 cases, out of which 534 are active. The province is classified as moderate risk and categorized under GCQ. (PNA)

Read More