Philippines expands travel ban due to new coronavirus variant to 5 more countries

January 12, 2021

MANILA, Philippines — Malacañang announced Tuesday that the Philippine government is expanding its travel ban over the new coronavirus variant to five more countries, including mainland China.

Aside from travelers from China, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque announced that travelers from Pakistan, Jamaica, Luxembourg and Oman would no longer be allowed to enter the country starting Wednesday noon until Friday.

The travel ban would be subject to the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases.

Prior to this, the Philippine government had already imposed entry restrictions on travelers coming from 28 countries where new variants of the coronavirus, feared to be more infectious than the original variant, have been reported.

Malacañang is still mulling over whether it will extend or lift the travel bans which would only be in effect until Friday.

This is a developing story. Refresh this page for updates.

Related News

Explore more categories